May Wrap Up

This was such a lackluster reading month. I lost a lot of motivation and was so tired from moving. Here’s hoping June is a bit more successful.

Total Number of Books: 12
Total Number of Pages: 3,564
Physical: 0
eBooks: 8
Audiobooks: 4
Favorite (New) Reads of the MonthSongs in Ursa Major by Emma Brodie AND The Wreckage of My Presence by Casey Wilson

Physical:

NONE! All my books are sitting in boxes around my apartment—except for the few that I’ve acquired over the last few weeks.

eBooks:

Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon – ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5
Super Sick: Making Peace with Chronic Illness by Alison Alexander – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
The Lucky Escape by Laura Jane Williams – ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Songs in Ursa Major by Emma Brodie – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5
The Eid Gift by S.K. Ali – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Along for the Ride by Rachel Meinke – ⭐️⭐️⭐️
The Sea Is Salt and So Am I by Cassandra Hartt – ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5
To Sir, with Love by Lauren Layne – ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I’m a big fan of Nicola Yoon’s work and was pretty disappointed to not have enjoyed her latest book, Instructions on Dancing. It had all the ingredients of a great book—swoon worthy love interest, a great friend group, and dance—but it didn’t wow me. I wanted more focus—I felt like it could have been two different novels. I’m going to do an entire post about Alison Alexander’s book of essays, Super Sick, but let’s just say that I had to stop reading at some points because I related to it a little too much. Love From A to Z is my favorite of S.K. Ali’s books and getting a new short story in The Eid Gift was such a treat. I wanted more! Songs in Ursa Major was the historical feminist book of my dreams. A lot of sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll in the vein of Daisy Jones and The Six as well as one of my all-time favorite movies, Almost Famous.

Audiobooks:

Anna K by Jenny Lee (re read) – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Kiss and Repeat by Heather Truett – ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Sunny Song Will Never Be Famous by Suzanne Park – ⭐️⭐️⭐️
The Wreckage of My Presence by Casey Wilson – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Had to prepare myself for Jenny Lee’s sequel to Anna K with a little reread and it was so much fun to be back in the city with all that drama. I’ve been waiting to read Casey Wilson’s book of essays for a while and I’m so glad I waited for the audiobook. Wilson is such a storyteller with not only what she writes, but how she reads it. The Wreckage of My Presence talks about her struggles with losing her mom in her 20’s, hustling through the improv comedy scene—with a brief stint at SNL—and her postpartum depression. My favorite chapter was her looking back on her time on Happy Endings and how much it changed her life, not only for her career, but also personally. It’s one of my favorite shows that few people remember or even know about.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s