Recommended for You Blog Tour

rfy-cover-imageTitle: Recommended for You
Author: Laura Silverman
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Ratings:
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Summary:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus.

Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at Once Upon, her favorite local bookstore. And with her moms fighting at home and her beloved car teetering on the brink of death, the store has become a welcome escape.

When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the person who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to at least fix her car, if none of her other problems. The only person standing in her way? New hire Jake Kaplan.

Jake is an affront to everything Shoshanna stands for. He doesn’t even read! But somehow his sales start to rival hers. Jake may be cute (really cute), and he may be an eligible Jewish single (hard to find south of Atlanta), but he’s also the enemy, and Shoshanna is ready to take him down.

But as the competition intensifies, Jake and Shoshanna grow closer and realize they might be more on the same page than either expects…

First, that cover! Second, bookstore! Third, CHRISTMASTIME!

This was so sweet! Shoshana was a breath of fresh air, especially right now. She doesn’t have a mean or nasty bone in her body and I loved how much she cared about her family and friends, even when it backfired. She’s a fixer—her parent’s relationship, her friend’s YouTube career, and her beloved bookstore—she acts before she fully thinks something through. She means well, but her exuberance gets the better of her.

Jake was a great counter to her high energy. I liked how we slowly got to know him better as he became more comfortable around Shoshana, though I do wish we had more time with the two of them to see it really blossom. This was definitely a younger YA book. I think it’s a great story for late middle school/early high school, introducing teens to the beginnings of a sweet romance, great friendships, and a non-conventional Jewish family.

ARC was provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Two Book Tuesday

 

48730186._SX318_

Title: I Killed Zoe Spanos
Author: Kit Frick
Genre: YA Mystery/Thriller
Publication Date: June 30th, 2020
Ratings: ♥♥♥♥.5

Goodreads Summary:

For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real truth no matter the cost.

What happened to Zoe won’t stay buried…

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected—and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Inspired by Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, Kit Frick weaves a thrilling story of psychological suspense that twists and turns until the final page.

4.5 stars

I was a massive fan of Sadie when it was released a few years ago. I had never read anything like it before—the podcast element was a modern addition that brought something new to a standard YA mystery. I Killed Zoe Spanos feels the same way, but in no way is it a copy cat. This book had three different timelines: “then” (the summer), “now” (after Anna’s confession), and excerpts and interviews from the Missing Zoe podcast.

I loved this. Basically any mystery that surprises me, I love it. Kit Frick’s book was absolutely captivating. It was crafted so intricately, I was shifting my guess for the ending every 25 pages or so. The use of repressed memories as a plot device, especially in a mystery, was so clever and well done.

I felt like there was no wrap up with Paisley and her family. Anna spends her whole summer there—living in their pool house—but we don’t hear from them during the aftermath. I would have liked that closure.

ARC was provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

52863278._SY475_Title: The Summer I Drowned
Author: Taylor Hale
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Ratings: ♥♥.5

Goodreads Summary:

The past always resurfaces…

Five years after almost drowning, Olivia Cathart returns home to Caldwell Beach determined to face her fears and take some risks―not just by swimming, but by opening her heart. Hoping to rekindle her friendships, she’s excited about a carefree summer with her best friends Keely and Miles. But life in the sleepy town has changed, and no one and nothing is as it seems.

When a series of startling crimes threaten Olivia’s fragile state, she is plunged into a terrifying game of cat and mouse. Her only solace from the chaos is West, Miles’s disowned and ruggedly handsome brother, but even he can’t answer the question on everyone’s minds―is Olivia really in danger or is it simply all in her head?

2.5 STARS

TRIGGER WARNING
ptsd, death, drowning; emotional and physical abuse; violence to animals; paranoia, hallucinations

This was a psychological thriller about a teen returning to her coastal hometown that she left when she was young after suffering a traumatic fall.

I wasn’t surprised when I saw that this was a Wattpad book, because that’s how it read. The drama was way over the top—very entertaining but so unbelievable. Just from the Author’s Note, the amount of trigger warnings would make more sense for an entire series, not just a single book. There were so many false endings it was making my head spin. The author just wanted to through everything she could at the reader.

I did like the PTSD side of the story, through the main character’s nightmares and hallucinations. She was coming back home to try and work past her fears and return to one of her favorite hobbies: swimming. She thought she would have the love and support of her two childhood best friends, except they were total assholes. All the characters were just awful. For once I actually liked the protagonist over the side characters.

ARC was provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.